Guitars, Drums, and Shin Guards

Youngest Son is in the other room, practicing on my guitar. I’m torn by this.

I’m happy he’s getting music lessons, as I can see that music will be a large part of his life, as it has been for generations of his family before him. His uncle is a producer. His mother and grandmother are known for their singing. His great-grandmother and great-great-grandfather were respected pianists. His great-great-uncle was the Tin Man in the original Wizard of Oz. (No, really.)

But he’s playing my guitar.

See, this guitar is a Tacoma hard body, folk size, and I spent a summer working for minimum wage many years ago to buy this baby. Mother of pearl inlays. Acacia solid top. Gorgeous. I tremble when I think of the damage my seven year old can do to her.

Middle Son is playing drums. There’s not much more to say about that. Other than, perhaps, “Eeep.”

Oldest Son has decided to play sports (soccer) and chess. And join the drama club. He’s so cool.

I have to admit, I am terribly excited by this time in my sons’ lives. They’re learning passion. Music, art, sports, drama – a whole world is opening up for my boys, and I adore being the one allowed to watch.

4 responses to “Guitars, Drums, and Shin Guards

  1. I’m afraid for your guitar too. πŸ™‚

  2. No kidding. I’m on edge. In terms of value, I’m honestly not sure who wins.

  3. what a sweet time, sugar! i remember when my boys were just finding themselves…and then my girl came along and we had a whole new set of experiences! xoxox (thanks for the blogroll add, darlin!)

  4. Oh well said!!!

    For youngest son, perhaps Santa could stretch to a nice starter-upper? Something he can put stickers on πŸ™‚

    As for middle son, Eep is very restrained of you :)… you could practice spoon tapping in synch? It might stave off the madness.

    Oldest son? You’d want to watch that lad πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

