My Man

It occurred to me, as I was browsing my own blog, that I talk about Hubby a lot.

I should be more forthcoming.

Let me tell you what I like about my man. (I’ll skip the messy parts – no one wants to hear that, unless Nora Roberts is writing it.)

Here’s what I most like about my man: he raises a family. Pretty much, that’s it. That’s all it takes. I am so lucky, because I have a man who is a father, a husband: a man.

How sad that he is so rare.

He works hard, so we don’t have to. He travels every week – so we can be a home for him to come back to.

He and I have so much fun together, we’re goofy. No, really. We went shopping for groceries this weekend. How boring is that? Hubby started cracking jokes with the pimply kid at the checkout – then he snuggled up to me and said, “Honey, we’re the ‘fun couple’ at the Kroger.” We had some nice moments with that.

The last few weeks of my Grandmother’s life, Hubby flew us out to Nevada to be with her, and family. He didn’t want to go, but he wanted to make me happy. So we went . (We fought the entire time. Crazy, stupid arguments that you only have with the person you love, that you don’t remember later. )

But here’s the funny: Hubby and I got into a (mock) argument about whether Anakin was born evil or evolved. Grandma was baffled. My sister-in-law looked at Baby-Bro (her husband) and asked, “How did they find each other?”

We so very much belong together, I wonder where I was before I met him.

I have found love in my life, and the love of my life, after many long years of searching. We are raising a family together. He has made all of my dreams come true (until I publish the Great American Novel).

And I keep finding it – over and over. I am so very much married to this man. He is so very much my Husband.

Happy (early) aniversary, my darling.

(Now we’re off to the dentist.)

 

2 responses to “My Man

  1. Awwwww….that’s so lovely. You guys were obviously made for each other.

    Lovin’ the new photo too by the way.

  2. belated wishes for many more happy years, together, sugar! xoxo

Leave a Reply

