Who Should Get My Vote?

So, as I’ve mentioned before, I don’t really like posting about politics. There are a number of reasons for this, but the best at the moment is, many others are doing it better than I possibly could. (There are many more, but you can Google for yourselves.)

But I’m in a state.

I honestly don’t know who to vote for.

This is the first election in my life where I’ll be voting for instead of against. I take this responsibility seriously.

I’m leaning toward Obama. I’ve been following his campaign, have checked out his voting record, am watching the daily news, and am pretty impressed with the guy. Likewise, I’ve been looking at the others. Some have impressed me. Others have not.

I’m a registered independent, with liberal leanings. I also fall into the conservative camp sometimes. I don’t have a party affiliation, so my vote’s open.

Whaddaya think, gang? Are we ready for a black President? A woman? A Mormon?

Who is going to lead us into the future? Who is going to fix the mess that Dubya got us into? Who is going to take us into the Global Economy?

Go ahead and convince me. Anyone?

3 responses to “Who Should Get My Vote?

  1. Oh I think the nation is long past due for a minority president – the fact that it would shake the beliefs of some staunch conservatives and some southern democrats to their very foundations is a good thing.

    Personally I just want what you want (at least what I think you want, reading between the lines here), common sense, a bridge builder, somebody who remembers what the Constitution is and takes it as a solemn trust of his/her office, somebody who sees military action as the absolute last resort, somebody who can admit his/her mistakes and then take the responsibility for fixing them, and so on. I don’t know if any of the current candidates are that guy, Obama’s probably closer than the rest – but I wish he’d get off this bash Hillary bit and get on with convincing me he’s got more class than that.

    Frankly, I wish we had better choices. 420 million folks in this country – surely there’s somebody better out there.

  2. You’ve stated my case better than I did. Thanks!

  3. What Jim said.

    I’m excited about Obama’s candidacy but sway back and forth as to how much experience matters.

    I like a good deal of what John Edwards has to say – he seems sincere, smart and capable and he talks about issues I care about like the environment, corporate greed, making this a fairer America and closing the gap between the haves and have-nots. I think he might be a little left wing to win over independents or potential cross-over Republicans in a general election – and find him a bit too far left on some issues myself.

    Hilary, I worry about. She’s a strong candidate – I thought her husband was a good and moderate president willing and able to listen to all sorts of points of view before making his mind up about a thing. But you get the feeling the Right is just itching for her to get the nomination so they can really begin tearing her down. I think her candidacy would make for an uglier general election. In addition she hasn’t always been candid about her voting record. She is also a very political animal and while that might be necessary to a degree, I’m not sure how much the “game” might creep into policy-making.

    I’d love to see a black president; I’d love to see a woman president. I’m torn.

    I’m hoping McCain gets the Republican nomination if only to prove that the “2 Americas” aren’t really so far apart that one side would consider itself well represented by any of these other religious lunatics.

Leave a Reply

