Look What I Did!

Not terribly long ago, I was bored. Needed something new to do. So, for reasons I cannot explain, even to myself, I taught myself to crochet. From a book. No shit.

As blue-hair as that sounds (and it does – I’m not fooling myself with this), crochet is not a bad hobby. I can train my hands to do it without my brain. I can have conversations, watch movies, listen to music – whatever I can do seated I can do while holding some yarn and a crochet needle and making something cute that no one really appreciates but me. One Christmas when cash was tight, everyone got scarves. They still talk about them. Goomball gift, of course, but at least people remember them, as opposed to the endless baskets of whatever they got from other friends. And many people still wear them. It’s nice.

The first blanket I made was for Little Brother, the year he got married. It looked pretty good, though I didn’t buy enough yarn at first and ended up with a slight color change along about 2/3 of the way. I think I’m the only one who noticed. (Let me keep my illusions, family, in case you’re reading along…). It took for-fricking-ever. I had no idea of the time commitment it took to create something like that. Serious time. And then Little Brother moved to L.A., so has no more need of a blanket. I’m sure it’s in a box somewhere. But no matter – he liked it, his wife liked it, I’m sure his pooches liked it. It’ll resurface one day.

The second blanket I made was a disaster. It was a gift for my father and step-mother. They still trot it out when I come over. That’s love for you, folks.

The third blanket I made was for my Grandfather. I think that one was good. So good, in fact, I almost didn’t give it to him. Soft and silky, and lovely russet western colors. I’m going to have to do another one like that.

Then I made one for us. I did without a pattern, as I thought I had this blanket thing down by this time (foolish me). I had some kick yarn and thought I could pull it off. I didn’t gauge right, and ended up with a lovely blanket that is about ten or eleven feet long, but only four feet wide. Hubby calls it “Paul Bunyan’s ascot”, and loves the thing. It’s a lap blanket for the whole family at once. It’s pretty when you fold it – no one can tell the measurements are screwy.

I have made scarves and hats and baby blankets and sundry stuff, but the big throw blankets are where the rubber meets the road, you know?

I have since made another. This time, I think I did pretty good. I’m keeping it for myself (but not if the boys have anything to say about it – they carry it around like a wooby).

Here it is:

look-what-i-did.jpg

This is the best thing I’ve ever made with my own hands (not counting children, of course, and I had help with that).

Now I just have to work up the courage to make something for my Mom. She has really good taste, you feel me?

3 responses to “Look What I Did!

  1. There’s nothing wrong with crocheting! Be proud of yourself! I learned to crochet from an aunt when I was 8, not one in my immediate family knew how to.

    Handmade gifts have that long lasting appeal. When I am running low on money, even if I spend more on a nicer yarn, the gift ends up looking fabulous.

    Now, most of the crocheting I do is for charity, blankets, scarves, hats.

  2. You know, I never got that promised scarf . . .

    A girl that lived in my dorm taught me the basics of crocheting when I was in college. I have done many scarves, nothing as ambitious as a sweater though. Embellished a few baby blankets, and stuff like that. The thing that kills me though is that one night, while on the phone with someone that turned out to be the worst date I ever had (all he wanted to do was watch Cops and eat blue cheese dressing), I started an afghan. I chain stitched my base row, and when I hung up the phone I started working back on a double crochet.

    Well, I must have been on the phone for awhile. That sucker was almost eight feet across.

    I was also rather ambitious with the color pattern, as well. I bought all the yarn for it, and then once I went home for the semester it went in a box.

    That was 1992ish. Let me just say that I do not need another lap throw. I have about four that are in the open, another six in the back room that are quilts from my great grandma, and then a few afghans encased in plastic that were made by my great aunt. Coverings are not an issue in the Blincoe household.

    A few years ago I revived the behemoth project, and I still working on the sucker off and on. It’s become a matter of principle to finish the damn thing. And I have a deadline now–a minimum of a row a night (takes about an hour) and to finish by my birthday (April 15).

    I can now say that it is now over 2/3 of the way done, has a full 14 skeins of yarn in it, and when completed will not only cover my kingsized bed but will probably double back over it as well. And you’re right–I can do it while watching a movie or TV and it’s rather meditative at this point. I have 7 skeins of yarn to go . . . .

    When I am finished, no doubt it will end up in a box to be pulled out and laughed over with visitors, much like my stepdad’s four gallon container of pickled eggs or my brothers frogs.

    And one day, maybe I could be convinced that there is actually a PURPOSE to doing this, one that has a more immediate benefit–and that doesn’t take SIXTEEN YEARS to complete!!!

  3. UrbanFrugal: No embarassment here: my family is usually happy when our hands work! Come back and visit.

    Kel – Your scarf – and lots of little-boy love, painted in really weird colors – are waiting for you in the coat closet in our foyer. You don’t even have to come in – just make it to the front door…

Leave a Reply

