Middle Son Needs Music

Middle Son got a little bit bent out of shape because when I make a music CD for the boys, I haven’t been asking for his input. (This may be because the songs he asks for are akin to “Hit Me Baby, One More Time” and “Genie in a Bottle”.)

So I’m making him his very own disc, but I need help. He’s asked for Naked Brothers’ Band and Britney Spears. I have to change his perspective. (Just in case you think M.S. is completely insane, he also asked for Nick Lowe, so all is not lost. He also likes rockabilly, but I’ve pretty much exhausted that genre.)

Help! He likes lyrics-driven pop with a happy beat. Anything worthwhile out there?

Edit: I’m sorry – I forgot to mention that Middle Son is seven, and going into second grade. This makes a difference. An occasional swear word I can handle, but Gwen Stefanie singing “It’s my shit” through the whole song isn’t gonna make the cut.

11 responses to “Middle Son Needs Music

  1. Wow, I’m no help at all. I’m a country hick, and prefer to listen to country western if anything at all.

    Mostly, I’m a talk radio kinda guy, so my suggestion would be turn make CDs of astronomy podcasts. LOL!

  2. Barenaked Ladies. Funny, naughty name and ‘If I had $1,000,000’ should make anybody smile.

  3. Gimme: Actually, we’ve covered that one. Eldest Son made a comment a few days ago about a dress I was wearing to work. “I hope that’s not a real green dress, Mom. That’s cruel.”

  4. You are a lucky woman.

    The Divine Comedy? A bit wordy maybe…

  5. Can’t go wrong with Metallica.

  6. New Order did it for me……still do.

  7. And there’s a natural backward progression from New Order to Joy Division, perfect for the teenage years…

  8. I’m still trying to find Joy Division. Diesel: Shame on you!

  9. They Might Be Giants! Particle Man is a hoot and practically anything else they sing. I’ve got it all if you’d like to borrow/burn.

  10. jameswillisisthebest

    This is my first post
    just saying HI

  11. Hi back, jameswillis!

Leave a Reply

